Teaching Assistants

If a DOC student has a schedule conflict with his/her TA’s OFFICE HOURS, the student should ask the TA (either in person or via email) for an APPOINTMENT at another time.

Our Teaching Assistants are graduate students working towards advanced degrees from various UCSD departments (see “Home Department” below), or they already hold these degrees.  Job applications for writing program TA positions are submitted the previous spring (TA Recruitment page).

  • Joshua Bingham

    jmbingha@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: Latin American Studies
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 118
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Friday 12:30-1:50

  • Sherry Boulter

    sboulter@ucsd.edu
    MA, History
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 116
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Monday 11:00-12:00 and Friday 12:30-1:30
  • Sean Compas

    scompas@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: Literature
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 118
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Friday 11:30-12:50

  • Luis Cortes

    lcortes@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: Literature
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 121
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Tuesday 11:00-12:00
  • James Deavenport

    jdeavenp@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: History
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 121
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Wednesday 4:00-5:00
  • Inga Diederich

    idiederi@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: History
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 127
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Tuesday 11:30-12:30

  • Alex Dubee

    adubee@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: Communication
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 127
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Wednesday 2:30-3:30
  • Ekhlas Fajardo

    ekhlas1312@gmail.com
    M.A., Global & International Studies
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 128
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Wednesday 12:00-1:00

  • Marco Huerta

    mhuertaa@ucsd.edu
    MFA, Literature
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 121
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Wednesday 12:50-1:50

  • Eunice Lee

    sel160@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: Literature
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 116
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Thursday 9:00-10:00
  • Stacey Livingstone

    sbliving@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: Sociology
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 116
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Wednesday 12:00-2:00

  • Nancy Madrid

    nancy.madridm@gmail.com
    M.A., Latin American Studies
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 129
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Monday 11:00-12:00

  • América Martínez

    amm001@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: Ethnic Studies
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 129
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Thursday 12:00-1:00
  • Jazmin Martinez

    jam038@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: Latin American Studies
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 118
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Friday 12:00-1:00

  • Matthew Moore

    mam004@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: Literature
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 117
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 1:00-2:00
  • Omar Padilla

    opadilla@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: Ethnic Studies
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 135
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Wednesday 2:30-3:30

  • Kara Raphaeli

    kraphael@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: Theatre & Dance
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 117
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Tuesday 1:00-2:00

  • Vabianna Santos

    vsantos@ucsd.edu
    MFA, Visual Arts
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 122
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Monday 10:30-11:30
  • Amira Silver-Swartz

    absilver@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: Communication
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 128
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Monday 1:00-3:00
  • Calvin Walds

    cwalds@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: Literature
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 122
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Wednesday 12:00-1:00
  • Shannon Welch

    s2welch@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: Literature
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 117
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Monday 2:00-3:00

  • Eden White

    edwhite@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: History
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 135
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Monday 11:00-12:00

  • Xach Williams

    rzwillia@ucsd.edu
    Home Department: Ethnic Studies
    Office: Sequoyah Hall 122
    Fall Quarter Office Hours: Monday 10:30-11:30